Some people think that in order to learn about history, children must be taken to historical sites rather than just reading books. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that teaching children about history can be done optimally if they are directly taken to historical sites, while simply giving them reading materials is not effective. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion because of some major reasons that are elucidated in this essay. On the one hand, taking children to historical sites to help them learn about their nation’s history is beneficial and should be done. Children are visual learners, which means that they prefer to have direct interactions with knowledge, while abstract concepts may be challenging for them to comprehend. When history is described in books, it lacks the needed quality that helps children learn. As a result, taking them directly to historical places and providing them with knowledge on the spot could potentially increase the learning outcomes. On the other hand, although it is commendable if children have the chance to visit historical sites, it is not a compulsory factor for kids to understand history. By adding images about the historical buildings or effigies to the books, they are still able to know what the sites look like in real life. The main quality to have children comprehend the history lessons is by lecturing concisely. Since there is tremendous information in the book, it would be boring and ineffective if teachers do not know how to summarize the lesson and lecture in an interesting way. In conclusion, it is undeniable that taking children to historical sites is a great idea since it could help children understand history lessons more easily. Nevertheless, it is not the main requirement to get children interested in the subject. Instead, teachers should focus on improving the teaching method as it could help history be easier and more interesting for kids to learn.