More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people are familiar with reading on the Internet as an alternative to reading tidings or watching TV shows to update their news and knowledge. From my point of view, I reckon that this is an advantageous development for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, there are a few drawbacks to reading online. Firstly, many fake and untruthful information is floating online. The Internet is a place where people can post anything they want. Therefore, there is plenty of unverified information and it has a bad impact on readers. Secondly, people can easily lose concentration on reading. If readers do not turn on “do not disturb” mode while reading, they can be affected by notifications from many applications or advertisements on the website and their reading experience will be interrupted. Thirdly, their health will also be influenced. Spending too much time on screen can lead to many health issues such as short-eye sighted state, and neck and back problems. On the other hand, reading online brings many benefits to readers. First and foremost, users can access data quickly and conveniently. They only need digital devices with an internet connection to be able to surf the web. Secondly, viewing online tidings helps save money. Most digital bulletin websites provide viewers with free information which helps them not have to pay money to buy printed newspapers. Last but not least, it contributes to environmental protection. Accessing digital info means that the use of paper to make newspapers is reduced and the energy used for printing will also be decreased. In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that reading online on the website is more beneficial than its drawbacks and this is a positive development. The importance is that each individual must know how to use it for the right purpose so that reading online will be effective