More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, more and more innovations related to food can be found easily near us. While buying food, people tend not to consider the ingredients and just buy it because they like it. Because of this kind of lifestyle, most people are having problems with their weight. Societies think that one solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. In this essay, I will discuss my opinions and points supporting my beliefs. Firstly, as humans, it becomes our responsibility to maintain the health of our bodies. One of these can be done by considering the food we eat. Normally, people buy food without referring to the nutritional information of it. In my opinion, reading the nutritional information before buying food will make us aware of the food and its ingredients. Hence, it is important to educate people to read the label on the food first to decrease the number of overweight people. Secondly, there are many solutions that can be applied to this problem rather than increasing the price of fattening foods. One of those is, in Singapore, the food distributors stick a colored label on the food packaging. Therefore, people will easily differentiate the product, whether it is healthy or not. Furthermore, this is crucial to raise awareness in society. To sum up, it is not a solution if we increase the price of fattening foods to reduce the number of overweight people. There are other solutions that can be applied, such as educating people to read the nutritional information and sticking a colored label on the packaging.