Some young people are sent to prison for minor crimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such imprisonment?

It is true that some youths are thrown into jail for minor criminal activities. This essay will highlight the benefits and drawbacks that result from this approach. To begin with the positives, a significant advantage of such an approach is that it is likely to deter young adults from committing any kind of crime whether serious or minor. This means that they tend to be more conscious about their actions in order not to serve custodial sentences for petty acts of crime. Otherwise, in terms of driving offences, some young individuals might take it easy if they have an accident. This is because usually it can be dealt with by driving penalties. Not only this, but this measure could enhance safety. Although patrolling the street is helpful to some extent, it is an alternative way to tackle acts of abuse. In other words, the number of rapists, shoplifters, pickpocketers, and other wrongdoers would fall sharply. Consequently, many children are allowed by their parents to play with their peers on the street with less risk of awful incidents. On the other hand, throwing people who are young to jail also present disadvantages. The most obvious of which is the number of serious criminals would increase. To make matters worse, it has shown that some individuals may enter a life of crime as they can interact with persistent and dangerous offenders in prison. In consequence, after serving their sentences and punishments which were enforced it is rare to become reformed and productive members of society. Moreover, with regard to expenses, the government has to spend a great amount of money. This is because more prisons should be built as the number of offenders grows, while, it is more efficient and beneficial to spend money on other faculties for example, education, industry, economics and many others in order to improve employment opportunities and make progress in the country. In conclusion, despite the benefits of criminal deterrents and advances in the safety area that such this approach can provide, the drawbacks of high expenses and risks of turning to crime should also be taken into account.