In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

While it is considered by myriad of nations that children should be in a competitive atmosphere and focus on winning, others raise concerns about potential disadvantages related to this approach. This essay seeks to explore both the arguments associated with pros and cons of introducing competition in education. Although it acknowledges some concerns, yet the essay leans towards the positive effects of competitive education. The underlying factors of belief in having competitive ambience in schools and colleges are two-fold. In apropos of this, the predominant one is that competition facilitates the development of crucial life skills in children as when students engage in competitive activities, they learn resilience which further allows them to face challenges without being of challenging situations in life and in this way, they ultimately develop successful traits for future. Moreover, since students have to adapt in various situations in a competition, it develops many skills in them such as critical thinking, problem solving and leadership qualities which help them to meet the demands of this challenging world in future. However, critics express issues with having a competitive atmosphere as it puts negative effects on students’ well being. Firstly, when competition is introduced in young age, they feel stressed and anxious especially when they do not win it which directly affects their mental health and overall academic performance. Furthermore, when pupils get involved in competitions, they not only just cheat sometimes to win it, but also limit their imagination and creativity. Consequently, it stops them from thinking of exciting ideas. In conclusion, Despite of the negative potential outcomes, the development of vital skills of life outweighs the drawbacks. To add, maintaining a balance is crucial for holistic growth of youngsters.