Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience

As tourism has increased in popularity, many people visit famous tourism sites. Although it seems to bring benefits in some aspects of life including economics, many people argue that it may have a detrimental effect on the environment of the places that people visit. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss how true this opinion is and present some solutions that can be done by tourists. Nowadays, tourism has become a necessity for the majority of people to take a break during holidays, especially by travelling abroad to foreign countries. However, many travellers damage several local cultures and environments. For example, an Indonesian tourist came to Japan to see the cherry blossom tree, but one of the tourists had bad behaviour and damaged the sakura tree by shaking it with the purpose of taking a good picture. On the contrary, the Japanese perceive this act as a disrespectful action that is done to Japan and harms the environment. Therefore, to solve this problem, there are several measures that can be taken. First, I would suggest giving specific instructions or signs in famous tourism sites to prevent any unwanted behavior and to respect the tradition and culture of the environment. An example of the suggestion is how the Balinese have trained their tour guides to inform foreigners to not step on to the ritual offerings that they locate on the streets and windows as their purpose is to give respect to their Gods. Consequently, foreign tourists understand what should not be done and can avoid making mistakes that may disrespect or harm the environment in Bali. To conclude, the statement above might be true, but I believe it can be avoided by giving information to tourists and putting signposts in certain crucial tourism areas.