Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online than face to face . Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent days, people prefer to interact with family and friends on the Internet instead of the traditional ways. In my opinion, it is a positive development. This essay aims to illustrate my viewpoints with suitable examples. To begin with, cyberspace provides individuals the chance to connect with loved ones regardless of geographical location. Some students desire to continue their higher education overseas away from their homeland. Given that situation, the most convenient way to communicate with relatives and peers is through social media. For example, Facebook, Instagram, Whatsapp and Electronic mail are the few platforms they could connect with on a daily basis to keep in touch. Some working adults also prefer to work remotely in the comfort of their own nest. This in return becomes a cost-saving method for them as they can save on transportation and meal costs that can be incurred every day. Thus, meeting people online benefits remote workers avoid the solitude that comes with being away from the physical office. Furthermore, online interaction can provide a sense of confidentiality and distance. This will be in favour of introverted people to make them feel more comfortable to open up and express themselves. Unlike face-to-face dealings might make them experience social pressure. Additionally, mingling online provides individuals with a way to have a human interaction without having the need to feel anxiety and panic attacks in contrast to meeting in person. To conclude, the advantage of socialising online indicates a positive development instead of negative one. Community from all walks of life can benefit from the expanded networks and flexible work schedules. As well as creating personal interactions without being actually present in the situation.