Some people believe that handwriting is no longer useful in the modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that handwriting is not useful anymore in the modern days and does not need to be taught in school. I firmly disagree with this stance and think that handwriting is helpful in many areas related to students ' academic achievements and their future careers. To begin with, there are numerous universities in various countries that require students to do conventional writing assignments on paper. This action does not come without a reason. For example, students majoring agriculture at an Indonesian university are often assigned to write essays on paper in order to prevent them from copying texts on the internet. In other words, the use of handwriting in education teaches students to minimise plagiarism, which has become an issue these days. Therefore, handwriting skills should be taught prior to higher study like university or college. In addition to that, there are many professions that make use of note-taking, such as a journalist and an interpreter. Those jobs have a huge demand for high-level writing skills. For instance, journalists and interpreters frequently listen to spokespersons and write what they say on a paper as quickly as possible. Evidently, this ability is not magically possessed by one and does not come without an amount of practice. Nevertheless, schools should train students how to handwrite in order to produce such professionals. To sum up, handwriting will always be useful regardless of the advancement of technology nowadays. Therefore, I opine that institutions should provide students with facilities to improve their writing abilities. This action is hoped to create professional workers, especially in writing-related jobs.