In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays people are likely to live longer in different countries. It is believed by a group of people that these aged people cause drawbacks for the government while another group marks senior citizens as beneficial. Though over elderly population might be problematic, It is mostly beneficial in different ways. On the one hand, the rate for increasing number of senior citizens refers to the developed health system of a country. It also emphasizes the lower death rate of children and mothers. Next, increasing number of aged people can be used in different positive ways. The age limit for retirement should be increased, so that the government will get more expart workers or supports in various sectors. The expense to arrange recruitment exams and huge amount spent to train new workers will be declined sharply. Goverment will never face the lack of skilled workers while public services will be more smooth. On the other hand, aged people are more responsible and obidient as their lives have been shaped in a selected way. Whether they are assigned by the government to do different social works, they will do it. Here, comperatively stronger old people could help other aged people and their mental bonding will run this facility forever. Normally, a young boy who is not trained will be failed to entertain an old man for the age gap. As a result, the social harmony will be increased and the expense of social works will be decreased which can be use by the government to improve services including those elderly people. In conclusion, having an elderly population might be thought as disastrous but it is a fortune for a nation. They could be assets for governments whether their skills and time used in a proper direction and way.