Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe that it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The wide range of courses available in tertiary institutions constitute a tempting incentive for many students to investigate them as a hobby. Many argue this will arm them with a more comprehensive toolkit while others, including me, believe that college students ought to concentrate on their particular path if they desire a bright future. On the one hand, having the opportunity to broaden your perspective through studying a variety of formal subjects can be advantageous. The merits can represent themselves in terms of practicality and higher status in society and among friends, for example. Owing to the vast range of knowledge acquired, this group will develop an ability to analyse daily phenomenons meticulously by adopting a holistic approach. Thus, this distinguished characteristic will give them a special status among others who will regard them as geniuses and tremendous pragmatic figures. On the other hand, others, like me, argue that acquiring in-depth knowledge of any specific field of science or the arts is the key for being recognised as a professional in the nation. If you witness a leaking pipe, for instance, would you search for the guy with the highest skill or someone who knows something on a wide range of fields? Meanwhile, this group vehemently refuses the functionality of a narrow depth but broad range of information and instead wholeheartedly recommends students to perfect their field and become masters who everybody would look for them due to their competencies. In conclusion, while gathering a marginal amount of practical information on other subjects could be entertaining and provide a higher social status among relatives, the second group, including myself, argue that concentrating on a single field is paramount. Furthermore, everybody will have a profession in the future and only those with perfect competencies, merits and aptitudes will achieve their dreams and flourish in both personal and professional life.