Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is considered by some that monetary support of developed countries is not a solution for eradicating poverty in developing countries and, on the contrary, alternative forms of assistance are the most effective ways to solve humanitarian problems. From my perspective the efficacy of financial aid in eradicating poverty is debatable. There are definite drawbacks to financial aid and benefits to other forms of help. On one hand, there are strong arguments that monetary aid is useless and even harmful for many poor countries. Firstly, monetary policy might be harmful if a country is plagued by kleptocracy. In fact, poor countries often have governments with corrupt leaders, therefore financial aid is often misused in such countries. Secondly, continuous financial aid can debilitate a nation’s drive for self-reliance and lead to economic dependency. In this case of lack of foresight, a country might even capitulate to the political demands of donors. For example, there is Ukraine which cannot sustain without the financial aid of other countries right now. On the other hand, an alternative aid seems to be a great solution in terms of long-term benefits. When we juxtapose financial aid and alternative forms of assistance, the latter is a great decision because skill development as well as investing in education and health is a more viable solution for long-term growth. Moreover, there are no risks of corruption and more chances for improving its populace’s welfare. In conclusion, it seems that while money reasonably does not solve poverty the alternative forms of aid might be an effective and quintessential type of assistance for developing countries.