Do the advantafes od standardized testing outweigh the disavantages

Although standardized testing offers a significant measurement of education to groups in general, these tests provide inaccurate results about an individual's performance and the “teach to the test” curriculum. One of the most noticeable drawbacks of using standardized testing is that it just gives a general evaluation instead of a comprehensive overview of students ’ abilities. These tests can not measure each person’s talents just by some formal question. In the long term of being judged by incorrect testing results, students may get mental health problems such as stress and anxiety. In addition, overusing standardized tests may lead to rote learning to do tests, which may discourage creativity and critical thinking skill. For example, students who are taught in a way to do the tests rather than learning from the tests just have the ability to deal with tests, not to solve the reality problems. On the other hand, Standardized testing is seen as an effective tool to generate large amounts of data by reflecting students ' learning result year over year and give schools a general view of the curriculum qualification. However, this can not prevent the profound consequences of inaccurate reflections of an individual's abilities. Each person has their own strengths and weaknesses. By judging from a standardized format, students who have different talents can not get a real picture about themselves. In conclusion, standardized testing successfully provides tools to analyze the studying process. However, the negative consequences, such as incorrect reflection about each student's abilities and low-qualification of students by “teach to the test” teaching technique.