most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals, during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some folks argue that nowadays the original meaning of feast, either traditional or religious festivals, is left behind and that most of us see it as a means of seeking pleasure. While I completely agree that having quality time with family or friends are priority during festival times, I do not agree that the meaning of the festival is forgotten. On the one hand, religious and traditional festivals are celebrated by most people each year. In Indonesia, since Muslims are the majority citizens here, thus eid al fithr is a good example of festival period when people were most concerned with making cookies, shopping, giving and receiving presents, decorating their homes and enjoying traditional meals with their families. Even the homecoming culture is embedded in the image of Eid al-Fitr. Most people, not only Muslims but also other religious believers, look forward to Eid al Fitr as a holiday period, rather than a time to practice religion. Similar behaviour can be seen during non-religious festivals, for instance, Independence Day, City Anniversary and local traditional festivals in many places in Indonesia. In other words, excitement is people ’s primary goal. However, I disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of these festivals is already forgotten. Before people celebrate Eid al Fitr, they have to fast for a month in Ramadan. Within this month, people of all ages, both men and women, boys or girls, fill their time by reciting the Qur’an, performing the Tarawih prayer, increasing alms and doing other good deeds. Parents also play an important role in introducing their young children to the meaning of the worship during Ramadan. Because of the role of all family members, thus it makes the experiences they had during Ramadan were memorable. The same applies to the celebration of traditional festivals that have a historical background. When participating in these celebrations, people generally learn about the history behind them. In conclusion, although people mainly want to please themselves, I believe that deep down in their hearts they realize and understand the story and meaning behind the celebrations.