High stakes english language tests such as IELTS, are being increasingly delivered on the computers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, when our society is in the stage of rapid transformation, a tendency to pass important exams on computers can be observed. It is agreed, that children these days are better qualified in gadgets and this way of the examination can help them to cope with stress, however, some risks exist because of the possibility of cheating. This essay, firstly, will discuss what positive sides this issue has, followed by an analysis of drawbacks,before coming to a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, technological progress influences humanity in all aspects of life. Undoubtedly, tests on the computer are a revolutionary way to study and pass exams which simplify teacher's and participant's life. Firstly, typing on the keyboard is faster than using a pen and paper to write an essay, for example. In addition, each person has their own calligraphy, therefore, checking tests on the screen can help to avoid misunderstandings because of the non-understandable handwriting. Secondly, there are a lot of people whose self-confidence increases dramatically when they pass the exam on the computer, because there is no possibility that their pan will stop writing, for instance. Also, there is no need to control students whether they cheat or not because programs give the ability to change the order of questions. On the other hand, it is necessary to provide a double check of students who participate in the test,because there is the risk of using some other gadgets which can help them to pass successfully. For example, microphones, micro headphones or even phones can be used as devices to receive support. In this case, cameras on each screen have to be installed, which can be quite expensive for organisers. Nevertheless, it is not impossible to solve some problems which can appear. To conclude, this essay agrees that some drawbacks of using computers during exams still exist, however, the positive sides are definitely overwhelming, therefore this issue can be claimed as beneficial.