Many people try to balance work and other parts of their life. However, this is very difficult to do. What are the problems associated with this? What is the best way to achieve a better balance?

People today are increasingly concerned with individual happiness and work -life balance. The main problem for most individuals is that work takes up too much time and causes mental health issues and the best way to achieve this balance is to work more efficiently. The primary issues associated with work -life balance are the amount of time that humans must spend working and how this impacts their mental health. Since the global financial crisis of 2008, the job market around the world has become increasingly competitive. This means that old workers may get pushed out of their jobs by younger graduates willing to work for less and that new graduates have to put in enormous extra hours to catch up. The end result is more work, which eats away at a person’s private life. Once your free time becomes restricted there are a variety of related mental health problems that can appear. For example, someone who is overworked can suffer from excessive stress, some forms of depression, and obesity because of the lack of time available to exercise. That is why there has been a sharp rise in the last decade in these problems. The best way for individuals to combat being overworked and get more time for their personal lives is to work more efficiently. In an ideal world, there would be ways to alleviate the burden that put less stress on individuals but making the most of your time is a more pragmatic solution. For example, smartphones allow owners to get a lot of work done in what were previously wasted hours in the past. You can send emails, make phone calls, and use productivity applications when waiting for the bus, train, or standing in line. Humans will have to make the choice not to scroll through Facebook or read the news but that is a small sacrifice to have some extra time at the end of the day to do their hobbies or spend time with a loved one. In conclusion, the problems associated with poor work -life balance are especially apparent because of the current economic climate and the best solution is to find ways to maximize efficiency. If more humans changed their daily habits related to social media and using the internet, then they might be able to find more worthwhile passions and not feel as though their lives are passing them by.