Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to apply stronger punishments. Others think that it would be harmful and there are much more efficient ways to do that. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been competing views on whether harsher sentences should be applied to lower criminal rate. In my opinion, goverment should prefer rehabilitation programs to adress root causes in reducing criminal activities. Applying stronger punishment to reduce crime can give deterrent effect. In other words, if goverment can provide harsher sentences for criminals, it may discourage criminal behaviour for other people. Without this policy, people will easily commence crime for their own benefit as they think. However, I do not think that the policy in question is an ideal way for crime deterrence because recent study shows increasing severity of punisment does not correlate with decreased crime rates as it does not adress root causes of crime, and instead of leading to overcrowded prisons. Those on the other side of the argument say that rehabilitation programs for prisoners which focus on skill development and educational opportunities are more efficient policy in decreasing crime rates because it can resolve their root causes. There is a fact that money is one of the most causes for criminal activities, particularly for jobless people with debt to pay, and these programs will equip them with skill to match job opportunity in the market, and adress the root problem. Consider Chen Zuckerberg foundation in the United States that educate prisoners to learn how to code, and has successfully decreased recidivism rate in the country. I agree with this argument because educated prisoners will be easily accepted by society and more likely do not commit any more crimes in the future. In conclusion, while applying stronger punishment can deterrence criminal motives, I believe it is best to grant prisoners with skill training because it is more likely to adress the root cause when they meet job opportunity and reintegrate with society.