Many people want their country to host an international sporting event.Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.Discuss both views and state your opinion .

Hosting an international sports contest has been a debatable issue among society for a long time. While the majority of individuals hold the view that it is a rewarding experience,others think that it has more disadvantages than benefits. This essay discusses both perspectives before presenting my own opinion. On the one hand,organising a big sports event can bring enormous benefits to the country.First and foremost of the benefits is economic growth. Such sporting events attract a lot of tourists to the area,which improves the quality of sectors like hospitality,transportation,retail and tourism. In addition, the governments in infrastructure, such as roads,stadiums,public roads and transport systems and citizens can benefit from these investments long after the event. Lastly,hosting sports competitions has a vital role in promoting the image of the country.In this way,the nations can gain global recognition.These events help them to showcase their traditions,culture and customs and to improve their global image and national pride. On the other hand,the opponents of the view argue that hosting such events causes more problems than bringing more benefits.A major concern is related to the finance.It is true that governments spend billions on these events.Spending too much on a single event may later cause financial debts. Moreover,the number of visits to the area on these occasions will undoubtedly increase, as a result, it causes a huge amount of waste and pollution.Social issues like the displacement of local residents and the increased prices of food and basic services may also be a serious drawback. In my opinion,hosting international sporting events can be challenging and disturbing. However,the benefits overweigh the drawbacks if they are well-organised.With careful planning and budgeting,the governments can maximise the benefits and minimise the harms. In conclusion, although international events can bring environmental and financial concerns,they offer obvious benefits, such as a better global image and economic growth. Therefore,I strongly believe,hosting such events is rewarding when they are organised responsibly.