In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

In the modern era, more graduated students tend to have a gap year before starting their courses in universities. Not only might there be a positive aspect of having an extra year before having a major studying such as gaining experience of working and travelling overseas but an expected demerit also can be led from it. To begin with, the most anticipated positive thing about having a free year before university is that students can have more knowledge that they did not have before in their lives. This is because of the fact that young people who just finished secondary school live in a limited society such as schools and families to be protected from possible risky factors in their lives. For this reason, students may not have much experience in the real world. However, having a gap year to explore the world and to develop their capabilities would be a great chance to have more experience by working and travelling. Therefore, young individuals can find great opportunities during this period and this would be the most positive outcome of having an extra year. However, on the other hand, there would be disadvantages of enjoying a year gap which might be psychosocial-related issues. to be more specific, peers just becoming adults might feel freedom without any restrictions from their careers, but they still do not have such wisdom or experience to address their life issues which are still mentally dangerous for those who just became adults with full responsibilities of their lives. This might bring young people stressors facing inexperienced situations in which they are more likely to have fewer abilities to address problems. Some salient examples can be seen that young people might confront stress as they do not know how to deal with the professional relationships with their managers at work, or how to manage their finances while travelling by spending money to hang out with friends who meet in the new place. This might cause high levels of anxiety and stress and they should not have to deal with it at their life stage yet which may massive impact on their mental health conditions in a negative way. For this reason, having one more year as soon as they become adults would possibly have a negative impact on young individual's mental health conditions. To conclude the essay, there would be pros and cons of having a gap year before going to university. The unexpected disadvantage of having an extra year such as the high level of psychosocial-related stress can occur, while absolute merits such as gaining experience in the real world by travelling and working can be expected.