Write about the following topic. Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In the past, people used tradition for their peace of life, but nowadays, some argue that tradition is irrelevant because leave behind. In my opinion, I disagree with this view, and this essay will explain traditions still relevant in the modern era. First, long ago, tradition became a moral compass for a better life. To illustrate, some culture still keep their traditions to balance their lives in every aspect. For example, eastern culture keeps balancing between nature and humans. They believe everything is correlated with each other, like health and geography. Locals still believe in positioning their homes according to the sunrise direction because sunlight is natural vitamin D for healthy and gives enough light and energy for their home. This belief was inherited a thousand years ago and is still relevant until now. Therefore, tradition is still relevant, especially for human existence. Next, customs have become national identity. In some countries, they build their country by gathering and invading some ethnicities and areas. For instance, the Republic of China was made from invasion and gathered some ethnics in China. Because of that, China keeps its way of life, unique food, and traditional clothes. This also attracts tourist and many Chinese descendants to learn their customs and help to preserve it as a cultural heritage. Thus, customs will strengthen national identity by learning and understanding it. In conclusion, leaving traditions for the sake of modernism and progression is not the best choice since traditions help countries adapt to the world nowadays and reinforce the country's identity.