One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

long life span is to folks what sugar is to ants. One of the results of improvements in the medical industry is the growth in people's longevity. I personally believe that the benefits of this matter outweigh the drawbacks. it seems that the increase in the population's lifespan brings about several demerits in terms of medicine and finance. it is believed that when communities live longer, for example, more than 70 years, governments need to pay pension funds continuously which may put them under pressure in case of expenses. another problem is suffering from a lack of adequate medical care systems; the elderly can put a burden on hospitals, because as they get older, they need more treatments. therefore it seems that the young may be deprived of appropriate health services. on the other hand, there are numerous plus points in living longer. it is clear that when society has more time to live, they can dedicate sufficient moments to spend time with their loved ones which is completely enjoyable in most cases. a shining example is when a grandfather communicates with his grandchild and shares his valuable experiences, so the grandchild will take advantages of this wisdom. the added benefit for the aged population is that they pursue their old dreams which weren't accessible to them in the youth years of their life. therefore, living longer will provide them with additional time to follow their wishes. on balance, medically and financially as longevity may be problematic, it is indeed personally beneficial. if a long life span is, as a result, like sugar, then it brings about a happier life.