Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will easier if there are fewer languages in the worlds. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Numbers of languages are gradually forgotten. Some individuals argue that this matter is not at all an issue, as it makes life easier when the worlds only have a few languages. I partly agree with this stance and think that fewer languages indeed give extra ease to people, but having various languages gives certain value to society. Having a small number of languages in our surroundings makes communication easier. In fact, the world is known to have one international language, which unites people across the globe, that is English. This is because interactions can be done when people understand each other through one specific language. Other than that, having fewer languages means that one should not translate every different language they hear. It usually happens to international travellers who have to check their phones in order to communicate with the locals by using online translations. However, language varieties can distinguish one and another. For example, people can easily tell that someone is from China when the individual is speaking Chinese. Distinct languages are also used as symbols that inform where products are produced. This can be seen on wrappers that use the original languages from the exporting countries. Moreover, with the technological advancement these days, the presence of numerous languages should not be a problem, as we have tools to translate them for us. To sum up, numbers of languages are continuously overlooked as people think that fewer languages make life easier. I opine that this statement is not entirely true because having many languages has its own prestige. Therefore, I suggest that people should preserve languages in order to maintain the rich variety of cultures in the world.