‘Some people think children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while other people believe that adults should prevent children from making mistakes.’ Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is evident that there are split opinions regarding whether parents should control children to prevent making mistakes, meanwhile, others believe that they should have to be independent. I support the view that there is no justification for limiting own child. Those who advocate preventing infants from making mistakes may argue that their child is too little to make his decisions. There might be rational reasons to think that way because nowadays advertisements for drugs and alcohol are all over the environment, and it is available if the teenager has money. So that's why adults want to control their youngsters. For instance, the Times recently reported that 6 boys out of 10 were held on juvenile delinquency, it was proved that they all were away from home and not anyone's supervision. On the other hand, the other group holds the view that parents cannot make teenager's life by restricting them and saying what to do. To put it more simply even though adults may have more real-life experiences, anyway it does not help youth become responsible for their lives. From my perspective of view, adolescents should be able to make their own lives without the help of their parents. This is to say making mistakes is one of the most valuable lessons for children. Being allowed to make mistakes in their early years is a good practice to help children develop the ability to accept their mistakes and learn from them, building up themselves. In conclusion, I believe that overprotection may be harmful as it weakens children's ability to learn from their mistakes and stifles their growth.