Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the status quo that there are plenty of problems caused by consuming foods and drinks with too much sugar is worrying. Authorities in many nations have charged taxes on such products, and some believe that this is a good idea. In my opinion, asking people to pay some taxes can be a good point to decrease the habit of craving more sugar, but I believe this is not enough. On one hand, charging extra money from consumers to pay for their sweet foods or drinks is helpful to press the number of health issues such as diabetes, obesity, and high blood pressure. Recently, the affordable price of meals and drinks might be a reason why people buy them. As a result, if they need to spend more when they want to consume sugar-based things, consumers will consider their plan and try to control their appetite. This is an approach that is given by the government to keep the health cases low. On the other hand, however, this policy is inadequate to lower health problems nowadays. Obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure are not only caused by consuming a lot of sugar, but are accumulations of other components, for example, sleep hours deficiency, lack of exercise and intake of other junk foods. Thus, politicians should establish programs for citizens that encourage them to have healthier life habits. In conclusion, paying taxes to fulfil the craving for sweet foods and drinks is beneficial, but I disagree that this is not a good idea yet. To cut off the number of health problems, authorities can look up methods which cover whole elements including diet, exercise, and other lifestyles.