plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of air and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree ?

The growing rate of shopping habits nowadays has had a significant impact on the environment. It is obvious that plastic shopping bags are sources of pollution to air and water. Some people believe that the use of this kind of bag should be forbidden. I completely agree with the statement, and in this essay, I will explain the reasons. First, plastic bags are not designed to carry heavy stuff. Also, after using them several times, the look will become unpleasant so people tend to throw them out. As non-biodegradable products, which means that they can not be processed and broken down naturally, throwing them away to the final disposal only piles up the waste. Their existence can create troubles for air and sea. For example, the smog from burning waste will pollute the air, and if the products are flown to rivers, they can endanger sea creatures such as fish and turtles. Second, instead of using plastics, there are many alternative materials to produce bags. For instance, people can make bags from cloth, which are more durable and trendier. Besides, they can be used for longer periods. Not only cloth, paper-based material is better than plastic since it can be processed and decomposed with the right procedures. In conclusion, the use of plastic as shopping bags is likely to create environmental problems like as sea and air pollution. I agree that they should be banned and substituted by eco-friendly materials which are more efficient and long-lasting.