‎Some young people leave the countryside to live in cities or towns, leaving only ‎older people in the countryside. What are the problems of this issue? What can ‎be done to solve this problem?‎

Nowadays, the young generation tends to move to cities or towns from the countryside, and the population of only elderly people accounts for the majority in the countryside. This essay will explore several issues that have been caused by this unbalanced population, and I will explore a possibly effective countermeasure to improve this problem. Firstly, the lower density of young people affects the convenience and excitement of the individuals' life in the countryside. In other words, the total population in the countryside also decrease relatively. This trend impacts the number of shops and social services, including supermarkets, and restaurants, resulting in the closure of their businesses due to the hopelessness of growth. Moreover, this significant transition in the population affects the living environment in cities, such as traffic jams, the incredibly high property market and noise pollution. To tackle this problem, one of the possible effective measures is the engagement by the government, by spending their budget encouraging young families to be welcome to the countryside. For example, the government has arranged a particular tax system which is affordable for young people in some rural areas in Japan. Consequently, the population of young families in these areas has recovered from the declining trend indicated for a few decades. In summary, there is a negative trend in the population of the young generation in the countryside, affecting the convenient and appropriate lifestyle of people in the rural areas. However, while it might take some time to improve the quality of life in these areas, the government should take responsibility for this problem, engaging sufficient budget for the treatment of young families' lives, thereby enriching not only young people's lives but also the older generation's living environment in the countryside.