Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook, Twitter and so on) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, social websites have infiltrated almost all aspects of our lives, making life easier and more challenging concurrently depending on the given conditions. The topic of whether social media platforms are detrimental to the members of our society or not has long been a dissent among individuals. It is my contention that while these sites offer salient benefits like real-time interaction and socialisation, they can also yield drawbacks such as disinformation and excessive scrolling time. First and foremost, although some might try to stick to the status quo by not tolerating social information sites like Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, they have become part of the life of the majority of the population. These communication hubs emerged as a disruptive change to the previous mail and letters, completely revolutionizing the way we used to communicate. Furthermore, these websites are now connecting billions of people from all over the world where they can exchange information in a matter of seconds. To cite as an example, through the help of online community groups on Facebook, people help each other in foreign countries by seeking help from experienced locals or other foreigners about local laws or other important topics. Moreover, certain individuals have benefited from these platforms by establishing their own online businesses and customer base which necessitates a negligible amount of financing, thus making it a feasible business for investors. On the flip side, it is worth noting that the internet does not always come with reliable and secure data. Since there is no regulatory control over these platforms, disinformation can easily be spread among communities, misleading people during pivotal events such as war, pandemic and political rupture. Consequently, this can result in turmoil and a series of predicaments. For instance, despite the government's significant efforts, the dispersion of erroneous information could not be prevented during the COVID-19 pandemic, resulting in pure chaos all over the world. In conclusion, even though it is true that these social platforms can pose a threat to society, they are advantageous in general, by furnishing us with undisrupted communication.