A growing population is a big problem in many countries. Should the government provide new homes in the cities or countryside?

Nowadays, one of the widespread problems for many countries, especially big cities, is the growing population and the lack of enough homes. The main question is that the cities or the countryside are the best place for providing new homes by the government. To tell the truth, both places have advantages and disadvantages. This essay will discuss both sides and explain my opinion. Constructing new homes in the hurt of cities can reduce the cost for the government. Cities usually have enough accommodations and amenities in advance, and the government only should spend money on constructing new homes. In Iran, for instance, governmental officials report that building new homes in big cities like Tehran costs half that of construction in the countryside. However, some believe that developing cities by building new homes can cause significant problems, like traffic jams, in the near future and cities usually do not have enough capacity for the new population. On the other hand, building new homes in the countryside can address this problem easier and faster. There are many empty lands in the countryside for construction, one thing that is not found easily in cities. So governments can provide new homes faster in there. However, compared to cities, construction in the countryside is expensive. It is because of that governments should provide necessary infrastructures and accommodations like transportation systems. In conclusion, I think that decision-making about this problem completely depends on what we want to decide. In some cases like Paris because of the lack of empty lands, notwithstanding the disadvantages of building new homes in the countryside, it is the only option that governments have. So it should be investigated in each case separately.