Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

During the last decades, many experts have started questioning the long working hours employees experience while living in an era where technological advances have revolutionized the whole world. From my point of view, working is a necessary activity people should do, however, there is an existing need to review how we perform certain jobs for which machines have developed more efficient ways of accomplishing. Besides, multiple benefits would be derived from having extra time off. First of all, modern computers and advanced machines have proved to increase productivity in many workplaces, especially in manufacturing facilities and high technological companies. For instance, most of the factories own specialized machinery to perform all the hard work that involves transporting heavy components, chemical products or other substances, in order to avoid health risks to humans. Computerizing and automatizing many processes and tasks has sped up the way employees work and therefore, it should generate a reduction in the working hours. Secondly, when employees are given extra vacation days, the total hours spent with their social circle increases. Families who do more activities together can develop stronger bonds. Evidence for this appears in some northern European countries, where they have started trials to reduce the weekly working hours to just 4 days per week. Several studies have suggested that the workers who participated at the trial are happier, sleep for longer hours and live longer compared with those working full time. On the long term, these health benefits might even reduce the burden on public health resources. In conclusion, many potential advantages have been found to be derived from technological developments, some of them directly affect the well-being of families and society overall. Based on this information, we should look forward to this new way of working and interacting with technology, therefore adapting our work schedules is a must.