Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that people who take drugs should be considered criminals and imprison them, however, others think that they should be sent to the hospital and treated accordingly. I believe that it is better to be compassionate and treat them in the hospital rather than choosing the quickest and easiest solution by imprisoning them. Finding drug addicts and putting them behind bars for a certain period can be one of the safest solutions to this problem. This common law has been followed by most countries in the world. For example, In the USA, having a small amount of narcotics with anyone can cause a bigger problem, putting them in prison for at least a year. However, this does not stop prisoners from having drugs as it can be arranged even inside the jail and they will continue it after release. Similarly, putting addicts under medical supervision is considered to be a long-term solution to this problem. In particular, by considering addiction as a disease and treating the addict as a patient, the problem can be addressed and the person can be cured for life eventually. For instance, In Bangladesh, there are many rehabilitation centres for these people where they are being monitored and taken care of so that they can be cured in the shortest possible time and return to their real life. I believe that this way it can be eradicated as possible from the individuals and the society. In conclusion, although the law enforcements might temporarily clean the society by imprisoning the addicts for few years, it does not solve the actual issue. What can be done here is to treat them through medical facilities and keep them away from the influence of drugs for long.