Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The use of technology has stirred differences in opinions among people. While one group feels multimedia or the use of computers can be beneficial to the young learners, others point out the harmful effects of the use of technology in the classroom and at home. In this essay, both opinions will be discussed in order to get a comprehensive insight into the matter. While computers are replacing the conventional methods of teaching, there are some factors that prevent its wholehearted acceptance in education. Firstly, easy ingress to computers and similar equipment may make the learners careless. Instead of using it to educate themselves, they might spend more time playing games and searching for unwanted information. This not only leads to addiction but also diverts the purpose of learning. It may further lead to health issues like obesity, eyesight issues as the young ones will not involve in physical activities. Secondly, being a machine, the computer lacks the human touch that a teacher can provide. One may get loads of information from the internet through the computer, but unlike a human educator, it will not be able to motivate the learner or develop skills like leadership, perseverance and teamwork. Finally, using content from the world wide web on the computer without citing references or proper paraphrasing may lead to plagiarism. On the other hand, using a computer can make teaching easy for the educator. The students are always interested in watching videos and listening to stories than reading a book. So, the teacher can show them videos related to the topic he/she is teaching and explain the concepts. Moreover, using the internet on the computer, a person can accrue knowledge on various topics he is interested in. He/she does not need to go out to a library and spend hours to get some particulars on the subject matter. To conclude, I would like to say that although the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of using a computer in education, this mode of delivering enlightenment is being accepted gradually. One step that can be taken to ensure that the young people do not misuse the access is to limit the time they spend on the machine and to keep track of what they can access.