As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often said that with the bloom of internet use, newspapers have become more and more unpopular in today's modern society. I totally agree with this view as considered in environmental factors and efficacy. To begin with, one of the main reasons why newspapers are becoming old-fashioned is the harmfulness to the environment. Printing of newspapers requires tons of paper and ink. The human activities of cutting trees to make paper have always been a concern for the environment as it could lead to deforestation and other global environmental issues. Hence, with the advanced technology of the internet, it could reduce the use of paper when people read news on websites or apps. For example, many newspaper companies, such as South China Morning Post started to broadcast news or articles on their social media platform for individuals to access. Another reason for newspapers to become less popular is the efficiency and the efficacy of obtaining news on the Internet. Firstly, most news or information is free for anyone to access on a website or the internet. This benefits all people who did not have a penny or two for buying newspapers. Secondly, people can access the most updated information on the internet. Newspapers require journalists to write and print it out before putting it in front of the citizens, the information in the newspapers may be outdated or not catching up with the newest situation. In contrast, individuals can easily access the most updated news as the internet is constantly refreshed with new data and information. Hence, more and more individuals are prone to reading news and articles on the internet rather than newspapers. In conclusion, the internet has become more favourable to individuals than press because of easy access and environmental concerns. Although newspapers may be still popular among the elderly populations, news on internet should be the mainstream in the future.