Some people claim many things that children are taught at school are a waste of time. Other people argue that everything taught at school is useful at some time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that much of what children are taught in school isn' t relevant for their futures, while others support whatever is listed in the school curriculum. Personally, I agree with the latter and believe that general education can help students discover their potential and find their true interests. One of the main reasons that some are against school curriculum is because children are taught such a wide variety of different things in the classroom, but most people stick to the same sort of areas of work later on in life. For example, someone who decides to study engineering at university is likely to continue working in this and similar fields in the future. For these people, the things that they learned in science and mathematics classes at school are likely to be useful to them, while the information they learned in humanities subjects may be less relevant to their careers. Conversely, others will argue that everything which is taught to children at school is useful. While these people may agree with the argument that certain information isn' t relevant to different people's careers, they disagree that this information is therefore useless. Rather they would argue that a wide variety of knowledge is useful for all human beings as it helps us to understand and function within the society we exist in. Not all information has to be used within our work for it to be worthwhile. I tend to agree with the latter argument, as I think it's important for people to have a well-rounded understanding of the world. In addition to this, I don' t think it makes sense to limit the areas of study that children engage with because most of them still don' t know what they're going to do in the future. Even those children who do have some idea are likely to change their minds at some point. Without exposure to a lot of different subjects of study, it may not be possible for children to consider the many possibilities for their future work and life. They would then be less able to make informed decisions about their futures.