Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Nowadays, with the rapid advancement of technology, digital entertainment has become increasingly sophisticated and appealing to children. Therefore, most children are drawn to watching TV rather than engaging in more productive activities, which is not beneficial for their development. One of the most obvious reasons is the wide variety of engaging programs available on TV daily, including movies, talk shows, games, and cartoons,... Those have the power to capture children ’s interests readily, especially during their curious developmental stage. Furthermore, watching television doesn’t require any effort. Children can sit or lie comfortably and still be fully entertained while moving needs more energy. Ultimately, family influence plays a significant role. If parents frequently watch TV, children are likely to adopt the same habit over time. However, this doesn’t mean that no solutions are available. Firstly, children should be encouraged to form a healthy lifestyle by limiting their amount of TV time to just 1 or 2 hours per day. Moreover, parents can create a more active environment by providing puzzles, clay, and handmade materials for children to play with. Registering them for some skill courses like painting, music or dancing is another wise idea. Last but not least, Parents play a crucial role in setting a good example for their children by reducing their own screen time and guiding children to use TV for learning purposes instead of inactive entertainment. In conclusion, watching TV isn’t inherently a terrible problem. Its impact depends on how it is utilized effectively and appropriately, especially for children who are the neediest to be instructed and controlled carefully.