Nowadays automation is being used to drive cars. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Presently, the pace of technological development is in a continuous upward trend, thoroughly revolutionizing industries. As part of these advancements, car manufacturers are being pushed to automate processes required to drive a car by introducing AI and autopilot technology. It is my contention that artificial intelligence is the salient reason behind the idea of inventing driverless vehicles and it is worth mentioning that it has merits and demerits. First and foremost, from my perspective, every process will ultimately be automated one way or another to boost efficiency. Therefore, engineers invented semi- autopilot or autopilot software that can run vehicles without human intervention, making it an ideal solution to decrease the number of accidents due to drivers who fall asleep behind the wheel. Self-driving car concept has been initiated by TESLA which is the biggest electric vehicle producer in the world. Initially, a majority of drivers viewed it as another hoax or fleeting invention without realizing the enormous benefits obscured by it. To cite an example, people can experience safer and more comfortable journeys owing to autopilot machines, significantly halting travel periods on the roads. Moreover, although safety is perceived as the most obvious advantage, its reliability degree is beneath the international safety limits, compelling drivers to still prefer semi-automated or conventional cars. Automation technology is only effective while driving through wide and straight roads, falling short on operating in extreme weather conditions as well as curved road structures. For example, as this technology is still undergoing research and trials, a lot of malfunctions occur when cars are being driven on autopilot regimes, consequentially, causing terrible road accidents. In conclusion, the notion of having driverless cars in the near future drives us to research and develop the technology required to construct these vehicles. Additionally, one of the key selling points of safety is a multifaceted phenomenon that has benefits and drawbacks.