In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, brands are often commercialising the products they sell by highlighting new features that come with them. This essay will cover the underlying factors behind this action, which mainly are related to the brand’s selling target. In my opinion, this kind of advertisement is leaning towards a negative development and thus should not be taken too far. Entrepreneurs are insisting that their products are new in one way or another because of their desire to raise brand awareness and increase their sales. In order to achieve these, the products need to convince potential customers to make a purchase. However, customers would not buy something that they already possess. Therefore, offering new features or advantages of a certain product will allow it to be marketed effectively. Nonetheless, it is undeniable that this way of promoting the products can be damaging, as it may encourage individuals to live an unsustainable life. For instance, one customer who has numerous beauty products may be intrigued by a lipstick labelled with several kinds of claims, alongside the words “brand new”. Instead of consuming the goods that one already has appropriately and wisely, there will be a growing tendency to buy unnecessary things and waste plenty of money. All in all, it can be inferred that the development of today’s advertising has the power to influence what society must purchase. Although this type of advertisement flourished in order to reach the entrepreneur’s goals of meeting the sales target and brand awareness, it was done at the cost of people becoming more consumptive. Hence, I believe the drawbacks of this development are quite significant.