Air pollution is one the largest problems facing the world today. What are its causes and what measures can be proposed to solve this problem.

In contemporary society, air pollution has become one of the dominant obstacles faced by the world. Although such pollution is undermined by myriad factors, there are numerous practical solutions to cope with it. This essay will examine the undermining aspects of air pollution and propose effective solutions. To commence, the substantial increase in pollution levels is caused by numerous factors. Firstly, the excessive use of private vehicles, namely cars and motorcycles has contributed to the dramatic surge in the level of pollution, as private vehicles produce noxious gas emissions into the air. Therefore, such harmful gas emissions lead to the declining quality of the air, which may result in several respiratory diseases, including asthma. Additionally, the over-reliance on non-renewable energy sources, such as coal and fossil fuel also contribute to the increasing level of pollution. These traditional energy sources are used as a primary source to secure people’s demand for electricity. Conversely, despite the issues that cause air pollution, a plethora of actions can alleviate them. One paramount action is to construct an effective public transportation system, which can potentially reduce the number of private vehicle users on the street. Consequently, with a robust public transit system, many individuals will opt for public transportation over private vehicles, as public transportation, such as trains, offers greater speed in commuting. Moreover, the government can promulgate a policy that fosters the utilization of green energy sources such as wind, solar, and geothermal energy. Such a policy is imposed in order to replace non-renewable energy sources and prevent over-reliance on them. To encapsulate, while air pollution is caused by massive private vehicle usage and conventional energy sources, promoting efficient public transit systems and enacting a policy that boosts the development of eco-friendly energy sources may be viable solutions. Through these efforts, I believe that we can pave the way for a more sustainable future.