In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, the transportation of necessities such as food between countries has become more achievable. This allowed people to enjoy a variety of food from all over the world. While this development undoubtedly offers significant benefits, there are also certain drawbacks that deserve careful consideration. Analysing the fact that food transportation aids in providing basic needs for the public and improves their health while causing environmental disruptions during transportation will prove the point. On the one hand, one clear advantage of international food transport is its capability to provide food for people. For instance, in Singapore, there is no land space to grow anything for citizens to consume. Therefore, access to exotic fruits, vegetables, and spices from distant lands became a need. Also, food imports allowed men and women to gain access to different types of food which filled up the vital nutrients. Hence, it is clear that one huge advantage of international food transportation is its ability to provide for the day-to-day consumption of the people and may even reduce health concerns. On the other hand, one disadvantage of long-distance transportation of food is its damage to the environment. For example, shipping food items over thousands of kilometres requires large amounts of energy, resulting in significant carbon emissions that contribute to global warming. Moreover, food items that take a long time during transportation will turn bad and, many will be thrown away, and wasted. Thus, it is agreed that one huge concern about food transportation is its impact on the environment. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to the transportation of food from different countries. This is a double-edged sword that can be extremely helpful to society when used the right way. It is recommended that governments find a balance between imported food and foods the people grow. As such, the people will be able to enjoy the best of both worlds.