Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do the advantages of this for study outweigh the disadvantages?

While spending a period of time traveling or working instead of going directly are increasingly popular, they continue to be rather controversial because the benefits are hard to quantify exactly. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, some drawbacks of traveling and working for a period of time can be pointed out. Firstly, it might be quite dangerous in some situations. For instance, it could be hard for students to do some manual work as they have not got a degree to work in a better place. Insufficient experience and understanding can push students into difficult situations such as labor abuse, inability to take responsibility and so on. Secondly, working and traveling could be more appealing than attending university. Students tend to choose to live without the discipline of formal schooling. As a result, this can be hard to turn back to study and adjust to university life, damaging students ’ performances. On the other hand, there are various reasons why it might be considered beneficial to travel or work between high school and university. Firstly, students can spend more time to experience and gain skills for personal development. For instance, by being exposed to different people and diverse cultural settings, students ’ perspectives can be broadened. Furthermore, students may enhance skills and work experience that could be useful for their future careers. Secondly, taking a gap period would give students opportunities to discover themselves. Students are likely to participate in activities where they can show their interests and passions. Thus, these experiences can guide them to choose the right major for university and open more job opportunities. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of working and traveling after high school can outweigh the disadvantages. This is provided that students have planned carefully and used their time for something genuinely worthwhile.