Nowadays, people are going for alternatives instead of meeting their doctor for health problems. Is this a positive or negative development?

At present, there is a significant growth of people trying out certain unfamiliar treatments instead of meeting their family doctor for their health issues. In my opinion, this should be viewed as a negative development because the majority of alternatives are not good for health long term and they do not have evidence that cures a health issue. To begin with, there is a growing tendency to use some uncommon treatments by people without using their usual drugs and this is mainly driven by the toxic commercial advertisements. It has become apparent that, people always go for the alternatives which give faster results. This is similarly applied for health concerns as well. Advertisers are well aware of this and persuade the public to buy the product. Because of this inspiration, people tend to purchase even without concern about its long-term effect on health and reject their usual medicine. For example, a group of scientists of the University of California found that, a drink marketed as a promising drug for diabetes contained cancer-causing ingredients. Furthermore, those alternative treatments have no evidence of curing disease although they are promoted as proven results. The people who promote those placebos are usually not medical practitioners and even they might not have the qualifications. For example, in the United Kingdom, there was a sudden emergence of medicine that was marketed as curing migraine. A huge commercial campaign was organized to make aware the public and consequently, the majority of migraine patients shifted to this drug by abandoning the use of usual medicine. However, investigations found that, the person who was behind this scenario had no right to introduce such a product to society. Thereby, we can imagine how effective that product would be for migraine. In conclusion, people are highly influenced to go for alternative treatments and drugs for health concerns instead of taking medical advice. This should be seen as a negative development because the alternatives may be detrimental to the health and often they have no evidence of curing the diseases.