Some parents encourage their children to be competitive, for example in sports and classes at school. Other parents think that encouraging competition can be harmful to their children.

People have different views on the concept of competition. While some claim that competition is a crucial aspect of children ’s education, I firmly argue that tough competition in childhood could lead children to lose their self-confidence and give in to their possible dreams. Those who are in favour of competition in education often reflect today’s societal values. When children grow up and start working for a company, cut-through competition might be waiting for them. For instance, approximately 15 to 20 new employees are hired annually in an average size of Japanese company, and each one of them needs to put in a considerable amount of effort so as to receive a promotion. Hence, establishing a habit of competing with others in early life seems to be a great practice for their future. Nevertheless, I am strongly opposed to the idea of early competition for the following two reasons. To begin, the environment, where tough competition is widespread, has a detrimental effect on children ’s self-identity. Young children, in particular, have not fully developed confidence, self-esteem, and resilience, which results in impairing their positive outlook. Due to the lack of confidence formed by competition, children may significantly be afraid of taking the initiative to try new things. Additionally, although it is imperative for children to have a dream that they aspire to attain in the future, competition would hinder them from pursuing their dreams as a result of losing competition. Hence, not only does competition negatively impact children ’s self-esteem, but it also poses a threat to their early dreams. In conclusion, I must acknowledge that competition could provide children with essential mindsets for the future, I contend that it could do more harm to children ’s confidence level and they may give up their dreams easily.