“Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

In the contemporary world, health treatment has become an indispensable part of our lives. These days people are curing themselves with alternative medicine and treatments when encounter health issues. Personally, I tend to think that trying an alternative medicine without visiting the doctor is a negative development that has tremendous consequences. Firstly, it is well-known that many alternatives are not strictly regulated. What I mean here is that they are not subject to the same regulations in terms of efficiency and safety. One of the main reasons behind that is this kind of treatment does not need any permit to work. A good case in point is that almost 80% of alternative therapies around the world are not conducted by professionals. On the other hand, it can also be argued that attempting different treatments might be detrimental to health. That is to say individuals by trying alternative medicines might apply remedies that are not given by the doctors which are falsely claimed to have effectiveness with no evidence to this and thus harm their health and make the situation even worse. For instance, according to BBC News, 90% of deaths in Britain are due to the self-treatment of people. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account in our final analysis, we can say that having self-treatment is not an appropriate way to cope with health problems.