Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

It is obvious that we inherit physical characteristics from our parents. Much more debatable is the question of whether nature also has an influence on our character and development. This essay will look at the evidence and conclude that, in fact, our environment probably influences our personality more than our genetic inheritance does. Admittedly, there are some indications that our genetic make-up can have an effect on our intelligence. If we accept the existence of different types of intelligence, it is interesting to note that musical aptitude and sporting ability often seem to be passed from generation to generation. However, it is not always clear whether the children of musicians, for example, become musicians too due to genetics or simply due to greater exposure to the world of music in their early years. Evidence from identical twins raised apart also points to the importance of genetic inheritance. Such twins often seem to end up remarkably similar in character and aptitude despite the fact that they grew up in different environments. However, we should also acknowledge that, in other cases, twins growing up apart often wind up totally different in character and intelligence. The power of simple coincidence, in these cases, cannot be ignored. Nurture, meanwhile, has an undeniable effect on our psychological growth. We know so much today about the way children learn that it is impossible to ignore the importance of environmental factors such as good schooling, exposure to books and ideas, and a healthy social life on child development. In fact, the whole concept of education is predicated on the fact that experience can have a positive effect on intelligence and character. In conclusion, while there is some borderline evidence that genetic factors influence our mental development, there is much more convincing evidence that environmental factors do so.