In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe that this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Whether live sports on TV distracts youngsters from participating in sports in real life is a matter of debate. In my view, participating in various sports is much more beneficial than just watching them on TV, although watching a few games doesn’t hurt either. In this essay, I will discuss and present my view. First, let’s begin with the fact that many sports channels broadcast live sporting competitions, and in many countries, there are ongoing tournaments. These days, young people are passionate about many sports but hardly engage in outdoor sports. Instead, they prefer sports channels as part of their entertainment rather than as an encouragement for developing their sportsmanship skill. The non-stop sports on television also discourage youngsters from becoming athletes themselves. For instance, more than half my college friends are huge fans of international sports such as cricket and football but their experience with these games is minimal. They are much better critics of these games than they are players. Sports channels are not the only cause of this decline. The growth of video games and the availability of gaming consoles have also contributed to this decline. In addition, parents are also responsible for this degradation. While parents should have encouraged children to play outdoor games, they buy games, and consoles for their kids. In conclusion, the reluctance to play games rather than watch sports on TV has been kindled by the endless sporting programs on TV, parents' apathy, and widespread access to gaming devices. No doubt sports on TV can be a good way to enjoy our favourite team's performance, but youngsters should not watch it all day long, and they also should play the sports themselves.