Some people believe that students should be given more homework, while others think that homework interferes with their personal lives and free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Issues related to course syllabi are frequently debated in today’s globalized world. While some people argue that students should be given more homework, others believe that it may interfere with their leisure activities. I contend that educational institutions should find the right balance between academic skills gained from extra practice and the development of non-academic skills through personal time before implementing their courses. In this essay, both side of the argument will be discussed. On the one hand, a principal concern is that academic knowledge plays a crucial role in students’ future career paths, as subjects like Mathematics, English, Physics, and Biology form the foundation of their working lives. For instance, as a Thai architect working for an American company, I am required to assess the structural strength of buildings and calculate lighting volumes for professional tasks. Moreover, communication skills, particularly in English, are also essential for enhancing the flow of the working process. Although homework may take away from students’ free time, it can be highly beneficial in preparing them for their future careers. On the other hand, non-academic subjects provide many significant skills, especially in situation that require connecting with other people. In other word, playing sport or music not only benefits physical and mental fitness but also helps shape individuals into more socialized persons. For example, people who regularly participate in public activities such as sports, music, or art tend to interact with others more easily than introverts in society. Extracurricular activities help students find relaxation from academic studies. All things considered, I believe that the benefits of focusing on academic education are comparable to those of extracurricular activities. Therefore, as student differ in terms of their backgrounds, school administrators should carefully analyze their needs before designing educational programs.