Schools should stop using books for teaching to learn as they find them boring, and use films, TV and computers instead. To what extent do you agree with this?

Nowadays, education and teaching are changing rapidly, which causes students to become more and more reliant on digital technologies. These digital technologies help students become independent learners. However, traditional methods which are used in many educational institutions make students develop their intellectual abilities. I strongly agree with the second proposition that conventional methods of learning are more efficient. On the one hand, the information that students might receive through films, TV, and the internet can be confusing as there is no system of categorisation and filtering. Students who study online can get too much information, so they cannot distinguish which one is true. As a result, students do not learn anything. For example, multiple internet sources contain information that is not reliable, such as Wikipedia. If students rely heavily on these resources, they can jeopardize their education. Consequently, students should study step by step in books as they can learn more knowledge by using books. However, while there are reasons to support the idea that students studying with multimedia learning tools have some benefits, such as the fact that e- books are more portable than traditional books, there is also a strong argument to support the idea that students should not stop using traditional books. Books cultivate a sense of imagination and concentration that is often unmatched by visual media, which can sometimes be too distracting. For instance, when we are studying on our mobile phones, a message suddenly pops up on our mobile phone screen. It is our friends asking us to hang out. At this time, we stop the work or study at hand to reply to the message in time, not only does it waste our time but also it makes us unable to focus on our studying and working. If we use traditional books for studying, we just should turn off our phones or keep phones away from us. As a result, we should study from books, not from films, TV and computers. In conclusion, learning solely through new media is not a very wise choice. Schools should continue to provide students with paper books to learn from.