Both governments and individuals are spending vast amounts of money protecting animals and their habitat. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in the society such as poverty and health care. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays an increasing number of rare animals are in danger of extinction. In today’s climate, the issue of spending money to protect animals and their habitat has become a controversial minefield. There is a widely held view that it is better to spend that amount of money on society’s problems, a theory which I strongly disapprove of. The main justification why not spending money to preserve wildlife is not fruitful is the fact that endangered animals go extinct. Wildlife is a country’s heritage and treasure, however, humans have done various activities which damaged the environment. An illustration of this fact is the high number of factories and private cars which produce carbon dioxide and lead to air pollution. Also, they have destroyed forests to make sprawling cities or use their woods. Not only does these ruin animals wildlife, but also put them in danger of extinction. Therefore it is human’s responsibility to take care of rare animals. There are a few facts regarding the benefits of protecting rare animals. First and foremost, protecting wildlife leads to biodiversity. In other words, every animal has its own role in the environment, so for having a healthy ecosystem it is important to have a healthy wildlife. For example, worms have vital roles in the ecosystem such as being the food of birds and making holes in the garden to reach oxygen to the down layers of soil. Another merit is the fact that future generations will be able to see wildlife. It is their right to see rare animals. What can be concluded from the discussion revolving around spending a huge amount of money protecting animals is that I find myself among those who believe that it is human’s responsibility to preserve wildlife