People who do not use social media networks will always fail behind in career development opportunities To what extent do you feel that this is an accurate and important prediction?

Social media plays a critical role in our lives, especially it will give a number of advantages both socially and professionally if we can use it effectively. However, it does not seem to make sense if the condition of ‘always’ applies to all the people who do not use it since it is not the only way people’s careers fall behind. Firstly, career progression relies on many factors, not only on social media. As we know to qualify for a specific job, there are wide range of requirements that we must fit in. It can from an education degree, and professional certification, to years of experience. All of that is to prove our knowledge and skills. Take an example from a biomedical scientist who took so many years to learn and improve their skill through professional education and training or a software engineer who built their skills and portfolios over the years. In this case, social media can be a channel to build their career branding but can not define them as a professional worker. It can help them to spread information to the world about who they are. Secondly, career development opportunities not only rely on knowledge that you gain from formal school but also require interpersonal skills, such as problem-solving, critical and analytical thinking, negotiation, public speaking, and many more. Proving that we mix and apply all we have to the real case in real life and social media can not help with it. Last, besides the advantages, social media can be a turn-down for your career. Big companies always have regulations regarding what and how employees share and act on social media since it can affect companies' image. Sensitive information that employees share without permission may be turned into layoffs. To conclude, the use of social media depends on the particular people and wise use plays a useful role in career progression but not always. However, personal skill and knowledge are the main role on how people will develop their careers.