Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people think that being a university graduate is the key to securing a good job, while others think experience and soft skills are better. In my opinion, I believe that the former is essential for academic jobs, while the latter are more useful in business and related industries. On the one hand, many people think it is easy find good employment with an undergrad degree or above because it puts people one step ahead of other applicants, and can be the deciding factor between applicants. Furthermore, certain career paths are not open to those without a higher level of education, such as jobs requiring academic or specialist knowledge, namely teachers, lecturers, doctors and lawyers. Not only that, but academia does promote the development of useful skills, not just academic knowledge, for example analytical thinking, research skills and intellectual curiosity, which are valuable transferable skills. For this reason, I believe that in tertiary education offers an advantage mainly for those aiming for a professional or academic career. On the other hand, having relevant work experience and soft skills can throw the balance in favour of the job applicant for certain types of work. For instance, for a corporate management position, having experience of managing others, running projects, delegating tasks and strong emotional intelligence is of more importance than the theory of management with no real hands-on experience when fresh out of university. Also, certain industries require interpersonal skills which can only be developed through extensive experience with people, such as in customer service, hospitality and sales. Consequently, it can be seen that tertiary education is no advantage at all in some areas. In conclusion, I think that securing a good job requires a relevant background specific to the career or job the applicant is applying for. Some positions will require an academic background, whilst others benefit more from experience and skills.