Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While competition in different aspects of life is considered a good thing by several people, others think that this is selfish behaviour and instead individuals should cooperate. Both approaches have their own good and bad sides and this essay will cover both of these viewpoints and my personal perspective. First of all, trying to compete with others demands more development. If a person tries to catch up with the others who are more successful, this leads to a condition where participants work hard and push their limits which is a good thing. Additionally, working alone and not cooperating builds resilience in the members for challenging tasks. There are some studies where some people are first given a task as a team and then individually. The results show that the members feel more responsibility and take the task seriously when they are alone. When it comes to collaborating, it provides more labour which leads to more tasks done in less time. For instance, if a person does a task in a week, it can be done within a day with the help of seven people. Furthermore, when working with a team, members can learn new things from each other, as all members of the team have different backgrounds and knowledge. In conclusion, while working on a team may improve skills such as responsibility and resilience on hard tasks, it may also limit the size of the job that has been done and prevent people from learning new things. Thus, both options have their good and bad sides and I recommend trying both options on a regular basis to take advantage of each method.