Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

Many are of the opinion that teenagers are easily affected in their behaviours and circumstances by their peers who are mostly in the same age group, which can be seen as a peer culture. Although there would be partly positives with children developing themselves academically and emotionally, the downsides are greater than the advantages given that friends convince each other to commit crimes. Those emphasizing the merits of peer pressure often claim that friends play a vital role in children’s improved academic performance. Individuals who often get along with high-achieving peers are more likely to work harder to get high scores on exams to outpace their friends. It is also common for them to ask for help when struggling with math or science questions and frequently engage in collaborative study sessions at the library after school. Through participating in extracurricular activities such as coding or art classes with their peers, students excel academically together. On top of this, exposure to peer pressure can contribute to the development of social skills, including interpersonal and communication abilities among students. The presence of other children helps the young naturally form positive qualities such as honesty, patience, and politeness, widening the likelihood of establishing healthy relationships with others in adulthood. In spite of the positive aspect of peer pressure, more negative opinions can be seen as social issues in recent years. Adolescents typically build stronger bonds with their friends and are especially vulnerable to the social pressures exerted by peers. In order to avoid feeling of being excluded from their group, youngsters often follow anti-social behaviours and engage in juvenile delinquency. A salient example of this would be that some Korean students, in the late 2010s, posted their video bullying and physically hitting their classmates, other students who saw this just started to conduct the same behaviour even though they may know this is not socially acceptable. Like this, teenagers prevalently engage in petty crimes ranging from assaulting innocent classmates to drinking and smoking, potentially opening a pathway into more serious crimes later on. In conclusion, peer pressure sometimes becomes a powerful source of motivation for children to study harder to stand against their friends and helps them improve social skills and positive characteristics. However, the negative sides outweigh the positives due to several cases where teenagers exhibit anti-social behaviours and participate in criminal acts.